Monday 11 August 2008

Brittany quiz answers

No peeping before you've tried the quiz here!

  1. The four departments of Brittany are Cotes d'Armor, Ille et Vilaine, Morbihan and Finistere. See them on a map here.
  2. Nantes is a historical capital of Brittany and its castle was home of the Dukes of Brittany. Administratively, it is now part of the Loire region.
  3. Galettes are traditionally eaten on a Friday - the meat-free day of the week.
  4. Ouest France, which covers Brittany, Normany and the Loire, has an amazing 42 editions.
  5. The English name for the hortensia is hydrangea.
  6. Argoat means 'land of woods'.
  7. Mathurin Meheut was a twentieth-century artist, whose work includes many depictions of Breton daily life.
  8. Cap Frehel has two lighthouses, one dating from 1701 which sits alongside its much larger modern replacement.
  9. Jules Verne was borne in Nantes in 1828.
  10. Asterix lived in a village which the books locate near the modern town of Erquy.

No comments: